Dish of the day: Princess Appam

 It’s quite obvious that I’m a big fan of foods, and to be honest I’m also a bit demanding and picky at food. Who doesn’t love to have nice and value for money food right? That’s why I will try my best to recommend to you one dish from my favorite lists everyday, so that you can try it next time if you have opportunity to visit Singapore.

The dish I choose for today is Princess Appam. Sounds like a royalty dish right? Actually I can’t find the history of the dish and also don’t know why they call it Princess either. According to Google, Appam is a kind of pancake made with fermented rice batter and coconut milk in Indian cuisine (and in some other countries’ cuisines as well). It’s often eaten for breakfast and dinner, however, as this is a sweet dish, I always eat it as dessert. It’s up to you to choose how you want to have it.

Princess Appam is a hot dish that made with batter, egg and cheese. The butter will be swept on top of the appam before serving, and because it’s still hot, the butter will melt nicely on the surface of the appam.

The edge of the appam will be crispy, while the center is soft, smooth and rich with the mixture of cheese, egg and butter. The highlight of the dish is the shredded coconut mix with orange sugar (it doesn’t made of orange, but it has orange color, it’s a kind of palm sugar I guess) to eat together with the appam. When you mix everything and eat together, you can feel the great combination of sweetness (from sugar), saltiness (from cheese), fragrance (from butter, coconut and sugar) and richness (from butter and cheese). That’s why I say it’s more like a dessert to me. You won’t regret for giving it a try!

The only place I often have this yummy dish is at Kopitiam at Basement 3 of Changi Airport Terminal 3. There’s one stall name “Local snacks” and you can find other version of Appam here as well. The price is quite affordable and you will full after finish 1 appam, so no worry!

Hope you will enjoy it the same as me, and if you’ve ever tried it before, let me know your review ok?

Local Snacks
Kopitiam @ Changi Airport Terminal 3
MRT: Changi

 

Leave a comment